口腔问题

龋齿

龋齿是最常见的⼜腔疾病,俗称“⾍⽛”或“蛀⽛”,主要由⼜腔中的细菌与⾷物残渣导致。该病可引发疼痛、感染,甚⾄⽛齿脱落。

查看全文

牙周病

牙周病,又称牙龈疾病,是一种可以损伤支持牙齿的软组织与骨骼的细菌感染。牙周病的早期阶段为齿龈炎,仅会影响牙龈组织。齿龈,通常指的是牙龈,是口腔(嘴)牙床上覆盖在牙根上的粉红色的软组织。

查看全文

牙周病与糖尿病

⽛齿与⽛龈之间的⽛槽(⽛袋或⽛缝)中布满的细菌、⽛斑与⽛⽯刺激着⽛齿周围的组织,因⽽发展成⽛周病。这些留存在⽛缝中的刺激物会引起⽛龈损伤,最终损伤⽀撑⽛齿的⾻骼,导致牙齿缺失。

查看全文

牙周病与心脏病、中风

牙周病与多种严重健康问题有关,例如心脏病与中风。牙龈疾病初期的症状为刷牙或用牙线洁牙过程中的牙龈出血。牙龈疾病若长期不加以治疗,导致该病的细菌可能会进入血液循环并能引起多种健康问题。

查看全文

牙周病与骨质疏松

骨质疏松症,一种以骨量与骨密度降低为特征的骨骼疾病,与牙齿缺失有关。由于支持并固定牙齿的颌骨密度降低,牙齿会从其牙槽窝内松动脱落。牙周炎会导致牙齿周围的骨质流失。牙周炎与骨质疏松症都与骨质流失有关。

查看全文

牙周病与妊娠

牙周病,又称牙龈疾病,是一种可以损伤支持牙齿的软组织与骨骼的细菌感染。妊娠会引起荷尔蒙变化,增加牙科问题的风险,从而可能会导致胎儿的健康发育。

查看全文

牙周病与呼吸疾病

牙周病,又称牙龈疾病,是一种可以损伤支持牙齿的软组织与骨骼的细菌感染。最近的研究显示牙周病与多种呼吸问题有关。牙周病可能会增加患者患呼吸疾病的风险。

查看全文

磨牙症

磨⽛症是⼀种⼜腔机能的异常紊乱,⼤多数⼈会在⼈⽣的某个阶段出现该问题。磨⽛和紧咬
颌是该现象的两个主要病症,⼀般发⽣于⽩天或夜晚。磨⽛症是⼀种最常见的已知睡眠障碍,在睡眠期间造成伤害。

查看全文

牙龈萎缩

牙龈萎缩是最常见的牙科问题,会导致牙齿周围的牙龈组织边缘向牙根萎缩。萎缩的牙龈会使细菌更容易在牙齿与牙龈线中间形成的缝隙内繁殖。牙龈萎缩可能会损伤周围组织与牙齿骨质,若不及时加以治疗,会导致牙齿缺失。

查看全文

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha

Conditions

Dental caries

Dental caries is the most common disease or disorder occurring in the oral cavity. The microorganisms along with the food particles present in the mouth leads to dental caries. It is also known as “Tooth Decay” or “Cavities”. This disease can lead to pain, infection, and even tooth loss.

Read More

Periodontal Disease

Periodontal disease, also called gum disease, is a bacterial infection that can destroy the soft tissues and bone that support the teeth.Gingivitis is the early stage of periodontal disease that affects only the gum tissue. Gingiva, commonly referred to as gums, is the soft pink tissue at the floor of the oral cavity (mouth) that covers the roots of the teeth.

Read More

Periodontal Disease and Diabetes

Periodontal disease progresses as the sulcus (pocket or space) between the tooth and gums fills with bacteria, plaque, and tartar, causing irritation to the surrounding tissues. When these irritants remain in the pocket space, they can cause damage to the gums and eventually, the bone that supports the teeth leading to tooth loss.

Read More

Periodontal Disease, Heart Disease and Stroke

Periodontal disease is linked to serious health conditions such as heart disease and stroke. The beginning of gum disease is marked by bleeding gums during procedures such as brushing or flossing. If gum disease is left untreated for a long time, the disease causing bacteria may enter the blood circulation and result in various health problems.

Read More

Periodontal disease and osteoporosis

Osteoporosis, a bone disease characterized by decrease in bone mass and density, may be associated with tooth loss. As the jaw bone that supports and anchors the teeth loses its density, the teeth loosen from their sockets. Periodontal disease causes bone loss around the teeth. Both periodontal disease and osteoporosis are associated with bone loss.

Read More

Periodontal disease and pregnancy

Periodontal disease, also called gum disease, is a bacterial infection destroying the soft tissues and bones that support your teeth. Pregnancy causes hormonal changes that can increase the risk of dental problems, which in turn can affect the health of your developing baby.

Read More

Periodontal disease and respiratory disease

Periodontal disease, also called gum disease, is a bacterial infection that can destroy the soft tissues and bone that support the teeth. Recent research has demonstrated an association between periodontal disease and several respiratory conditions. Patients with periodontal disease may have an increased risk of developing respiratory diseases.

Read More

Bruxism

Bruxism refers to an oral parafunctional activity which occurs in most humans at some point in their lives. The grinding of the teeth and the clenching of the jaw are the two main characteristics of this condition, which can occur either during the day or at night.Bruxism is one of the most commonly known sleep disorders and causes most of its damage during sleeping hours.

Read More

Gum Recession

Gum recession is a commonly occurring dental problem in which the edge of your gum tissue around the teeth tends to pull back towards the root of the teeth. Receding gums makes it easier for the bacteria to multiply in the formed gaps between the teeth and the gum line. Gum recession may damage the surrounding tissues and bony tooth structures thereby resulting in tooth loss if not treated timely.

Read More

  • Australian Dental Council
  • Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons
  • The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • Australian Dental Association

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha