种植牙常见问题

对于大多数人来说,牙齿缺失是一种痛苦的经历,会对我们生活质量产生巨大影响。从功能性、美观性与人体体验来说,种植牙都与自然牙十分相近。种植牙可以解决缺牙带来的各种问题。

牙齿具有几大主要功能,其中最显著的功能便是帮助我们咀嚼食物,让我们展现迷人笑容。您也许并未注意到,牙齿还在讲话功能方面起重要作用,帮助我们保持脸部形态。

即使您缺失了一颗牙齿,也会开启退化过程,导致患者需要使用人工可摘型义齿。在此过程中,支撑牙齿的牙龈不再具备相关功能,并开始萎缩,从而改变脸部形状。这样变导致了容貌的过早衰老。

传统牙科技术在拯救牙齿方面十分成功,从这一点来说,我们都想与自己的牙齿相伴一生。尽管我们做出了最大的努力,然而在某些情况下,我们无法保持自己的自然牙,有些人在没有牙齿的情况下生活多年。对于这些人群,传统牙科技术还不够好。

可摘式义齿永远不如自然牙好,而传统的牙桥技术需要钻磨健康牙齿来达到预期的结果。

什么是种植牙?

种植牙一种替换自然牙的人造牙齿,让患者拥有固定牙齿。种植牙不是通过移植技术,从另一个人身上移植牙齿。种植牙有几种类型,通常由牙医根据患者特殊需求与口腔情况来选择。牙医需要为您拍摄X光片来评估残余骨量、口腔模型来决定可用空间,通过全面的口腔检查来决定哪种种植牙可最大限度地帮助您。

种植牙费用昂贵吗?

种植牙手术可成为您的一项重大投资,其费用会在记录与检查后确定。根据一项对350位患者的调查,他们在完成种植牙手术后表示,种植牙手术不仅是一项值得的投资,他们还愿意再做一次。

我的保险公司会支付吗?

根据大部分保险合同,保险公司会支付某些手术费用,但是种植牙本身的费用是不包含在报销范围内的。然而,我们一直在尽最大努力和医疗与牙科保险公司协商,为我们的患者争取更多的福利。

我会有不适感吗?

如同任何手术,患者都会有某种程度的不适感。然而,我们在手术过程中使用麻醉与镇静技术,帮助患者消除任何不适。在1到10级不适感的范围内,大概有95%的患者反应在安置种植牙的一天后感到2级的不适感。医生会为患者开具药物来缓解可能出现的不适。术后,我们会为您提供特殊护理来确保您感到舒适。

治疗需要多长时间?

整个治疗会需要四到九月的时间,对于某些患者情况来说,治疗时间会更长。此项治疗十分先进,需要其他治疗更长的时间来保证其成功效果。然而,在此期间,我们为患者提供暂时牙齿。您绝不会没有牙齿地生活,除非您选择这样做。

会有排斥的可能吗?

人体不会排斥种植牙,而可能会排斥软组织移植器官,如肺脏、心脏或肾脏。这并不意味着种植牙手术不会失败。种植牙也会受其他因素的影响,如位置不准、种植牙受力不当、其他问题或患者现有的疾病。种植牙由钛金属制成,具有完全的生物相容性(与人体组织相容),通常会融入周围组织,变成人体的一部分。在医疗领域中,钛金属被越来越多地用于替换人体器官。

我多久不能上班?

通常,我们建议患者在术后一天内不要从事剧烈运动。您会出现轻微的肿胀。您可根据自己情况而决定休假时间的长短。

如果不去治疗会怎么样?

如果您的牙齿脱落,支持牙齿的骨骼会逐渐流失。当该骨骼消失后,患者会出现其他口腔问题,如临近牙问题、义齿缺少支撑、局部义齿与牙桥问题等。患者可能会感到疼痛、牙齿松动、修复体保持期变短、牙脊尖锐疼痛、牙龈组织松动、出现痛点等。患者的舌头还会变大来适应缺牙的空间。由于牙齿脱落,相关功能会减少5倍,患者会转变为食用软食物。同时,骨骼缺失时,下嘴唇会感到麻木,颌骨骨折的机率也会增大。骨骼退化将会扩大并影响健康牙齿周围的骨骼,最终导致牙齿脱落。

我相信每个人都听说过“多米诺效应”。我们可以通过简单的道理为您解释。想象一堵砖墙,如果从墙体中部取出一块砖,会发生什么?最终,上部的砖会因缺乏支持而落下,而两侧的砖会向中间移动,最终会脱落。之后,脱落过程会从临近的砖开始。这种过程与口腔变化十分相似。此外,这种进程会影响牙医提供相关治疗的能力,换句话说,相比于牙医在患者骨骼流失晚期提供治疗的能力,医生更容易在早期阶段为其提供相同的治疗。在牙齿脱落的不良影响发生前,替换缺齿是个非常好的选择。如果您不及时治疗,您将会增加风险,导致最终无法治疗。牙医更容易在早期时为您进行简单的治疗。

种植牙适合于哪些人群?

每位缺失一颗、更多甚至全口牙齿的患者都可以考虑种植牙。如果您有一颗或多颗牙齿脱落,种植牙与牙冠或牙桥的结合可替换所有牙齿。种植牙具有与普通牙齿相同的功能,可以让您摆脱骨质流失和龋齿的烦恼。如果您的全口牙齿或大部分牙齿脱落,安装种植牙可帮助您固定义齿。有时,如果您已出现骨骼流失,医生可以通过添加骨骼或使用“扩张术”来为种植牙创造理想位置。想要了解更多信息并查看相关图片,请点击“专业治疗”菜单。您还可以咨询了解相关手术的牙医,他们能够根据您的个人需求为您提供帮助。

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha

Dental Implants FAQs

For most people the loss of teeth is a traumatic experience which has profound effects on the quality of our lives. Dental Implants function, feel and look like natural teeth and can solve the problems associated with tooth loss.

Teeth have several major functions, most obviously they allow us to chew our food and give us an attractive smile. You may not be aware that they also play an important part in speech and help maintain our facial shape.

The loss of even one tooth can begin a process of degeneration which can lead to the need for artificial removable teeth. In the process, the gums that hold the teeth no longer have a function and begin to shrink, changing the shape of the face. This in turn leads to an appearance of premature aging.

Conventional dentistry has been successful in saving teeth, to the point where most of us now expect to keep our teeth for our whole lives. However, despite our best efforts there are situations where natural teeth cannot be saved or people have been without teeth for years. For these people, conventional dentistry is not always good enough.

Removable dentures can never be as good as the real thing and conventional bridge work involves drilling away healthy teeth to achieve the desired result.

What is an implant?

An implant is a man-made replacement for natural teeth which allows the person to return to having fixed teeth. It is not a transplant, which is taken from another person. There are several categories of dental implants, which will be selected by the doctor depending on your specific needs and general dental condition. You would require an x-ray to evaluate the amount of bone remaining, models of your mouth to determine space available and a thorough examination to decide which type of implant can help you the most.

Is it expensive?

The procedure can involve a significant investment and fees can be determined after records and an examination is completed. A survey of 350 patients, after completion of their work, indicated that it was, not only worth the investment, but they would do it again.

What will my insurance pay?

Although portions of the procedures involved may be covered, the implant itself is not a covered benefit on the majority of insurance contracts. We are, however, persistent in doing the best we possibly can in obtaining benefits for our patients from their medical and dental insurance.

Is there discomfort involved?

Just as with any surgery, there can be some discomfort; however, anaesthetic and patient sedation are used to eliminate any discomfort at the time of the procedure. Approximately 95 percent of patients report discomfort of 0-2 on a scale of 0-10 the day after the implants are placed. The doctor will prescribe medications to ease any discomfort that may occur. Special care will be taken to stay in contact with you after the surgery to be sure that you remain comfortable.

How long does it take?

Complete treatment can take from 4 to 9 months and in some cases, longer. It should be understood that this procedure is advanced and can be a longer process than usual to assure its success. We do, however, provide patients with temporary teeth during this time frame. AT NO TIME are you without teeth unless you elect to do so.

Is there a chance of rejection?

The body does not reject a dental implant, as it might reject a soft tissue transplant, such as a lung, heart or kidney. This does not mean that an implant cannot fail, but it would be due to other factors, such as misalignment, improper force on the implant or other conditions or existing diseases of the patient. Dental implants are made of a material, titanium, that is totally bio compatible (compatible with body tissues) and actually integrates with the surrounding bone and becomes part of the body. Titanium is also being used more and more in the medical field to replace body parts.

How long could one expect to be off work?

Generally, we recommend the day of and the following day after surgery, that no strenuous exercise be done. You can expect to be slightly swollen. The amount of time off required is an individual decision.

What will happen without treatment?

When you lose your teeth, you gradually lose the bone that supported them. As this bone disappears, problems with other teeth nearby and a lack of support for dentures, partials and bridges increase. These could include pain, mobility, lack of retention for prosthetics, sharp, painful ridges, mobile gum tissue and sore spots. The tongue enlarges to accommodate spaces of missing teeth. With tooth loss, a five-fold decrease in function occurs and the diet shifts to softer foods. Also, when bone is lost, numbness to the lower lip or even the possibility of fracture of the jaw rises. Since the bone is deteriorating, it will spread and deteriorate around healthy teeth and ultimately cause the loss of those teeth.

I think everyone’s heard of the “domino effect”. Here’s a very easy way to explain what happens. Picture a brick wall; take a brick right out of the middle of the wall. What happens? Eventually, the brick above starts to fall in from lack of support, the bricks to the side start shifting toward each other and those eventually fall out; then the process starts all over for those bricks nearest them. It’s a similar process in the mouth. In addition, this progression will affect the ability to provide the same treatment in the later stages of bone loss than if treatment had been started earlier in the process. It’s much better to replace a tooth BEFORE all of the side effects kick in. By waiting, you risk the possibility of not being able to provide the same, simple type of treatment that would have been possible earlier.

Who is a candidate for implants?

Anyone who is missing one or more (even all) of their teeth may be a candidate for implants. If one or a few of the teeth are missing, implants in conjunction with a crown or bridge can replace those teeth and function as normal teeth without losing more bone and being subject to decay. If all or most of your teeth are missing, then implants may be placed to anchor a loose denture. Sometimes, if there is already some bone loss, bone can be added and regenerated or a technique called “bone expansion” can be used to create a more ideal site for the implant(s). More detailed information and images are available from the treatment menu. Ultimately, a consultation with a dentist who is knowledgeable on these procedures can help determine your individual needs.

  • Australian Dental Council
  • Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons
  • The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • Australian Dental Association
  • Health Engine

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha