口腔外科手术常见问题

对于拔智齿,我应该了解什么信息

手术之前,口腔颌面外科医生将会为您讲解手术过程与情况。在此期间,您可以向医生提出问题,告诉医生您的担忧。通过这个环节,医生可以更深入地了解您的情况、病史以及您所服用哪些药物。

智齿拔除术的过程要取决于智齿的情况与病情的严重程度,包括牙齿位置以及牙根发育情况。阻生智齿可能需要通过手术拔出。

大部分智齿拔除术可以在口腔颌面外科诊所里进行。医生会对患者进行局部麻醉、静脉镇静或全身麻醉。口腔颌面外科医生将会与您讨论哪种麻醉技术更适合您。

我什么时候应该拔除智齿?

等到智齿开始出现问题时再拔除是不明智的。通常,越早拔除智齿,愈合过程会越简单。美国口腔颌面外科协会(AAOMS)/口腔颌面外科基金会(OMSF)的研究结果强烈建议患者在青年时期拔除智齿来预防未来问题的发生并确保最佳的痊愈。研究人员发现老年患者患病风险更高,包括在第三颗磨牙与邻牙周围组织上的牙周炎。在该研究中观察到的牙周感染可能会影响您的全身健康。

如果智齿未造成任何问题,我还需要拔除它们吗?

并不是所有与智齿有关的问题都是可见的或引发疼痛。损伤会在您未察觉到情况下发生。

随着智齿的增长,其牙根也会变得更长,拔除智齿的治疗因而变得更加困难,引发并发症的机率也就越大。此外,随着患者年龄的增长,阻生智齿很有可能会造成相关问题。

没有人可以预测智齿并发症会在什么时候发生,但如果发生了,您会感到非常疼痛,并且牙齿会更难拔除。据估计有85%的智齿最终需要拔除。

智齿拔除后,我会在术后有什么感觉?

术后,您可能会感到一些肿胀与轻微的不适,属于正常愈合阶段的一部分。冷敷可能会帮助消除肿胀,由口腔颌面外科医生开具的药物也可以帮助缓解不适感。医生可能还会给您一些术后饮食指导。在后期阶段您可以慢慢调整回您的正常饮食习惯。

什么是阻生牙?

牙弓没有足够空间会造成牙齿阻生,牙龈、骨骼或其他牙齿会阻碍该牙的生长与长出。

阻生牙的情况有多严重?

阻生牙引发疼痛,造成感染。他们可能还会造成拥挤,损伤邻牙或牙根。

如果阻生牙周围的囊中存积液体,变大并形成囊肿,那么更严重的问题还会出现。囊肿的生长会挖空颌骨,永久性损伤邻牙、周围骨骼与神经。少数情况下,如果出现囊肿后不及时医治,囊壁上会长出肿瘤,患者则需要进行更大的手术将其摘除。

尽管阻生智齿备受关注,最近一项由美国口腔颌面外科协会(AAOMS)与口腔颌面外科基金会(OMSF)赞助的研究发现正常长出且位置垂直的第三颗磨牙与阻生牙一样容易患病。

智齿拔除手术需要多久?

1个小时。

什么是干槽症?

干槽症是拔牙术后发生的最常见的并发症,大约有5%的发生几率。该症状可引起疼痛,容易医治。

干槽是:

牙槽因缺失血凝块,使骨骼暴露在空气、食物、液体中,继而产生恶臭,造成患者疼痛,通常在拔牙术后至少两天以上后出现,可持续五至六天。拔牙术后的疼痛与不适感属于正常现象。

但是,疼痛感会在第二天逐渐减轻。

出现这种症状,是因为血凝块从手术部位上移除,使骨骼与细小神经末梢暴露。血凝块有止血作用,可为新组织与骨骼奠定基础或框架,愈合过程大概需要两个月的时间。该症状更常见于下颌骨与后牙位置,因为该区域血液循环不良,而智齿位置则最容易出现该症状。干槽症会延长愈合过程。

牙龈组织通常需要三至四周的时间愈合,而骨骼则需要长达六个月的时间愈合。

该症状更容易出现在:

  1. 在医生建议时间之前 吸烟的人群。吸烟:降低愈合效果,减少保护性血凝块的血液供给,给该区域带来毒性物质,损伤牙龈组织,吸烟动作的负压力会将血凝块从手术部位移除
  2. 如果您 遵循医嘱来正确护理拔牙创口
  3. 没有遵循家庭护理指导
  4. 在前24小时内有吸烟、打喷嚏、咳嗽、吐或吸东西的行为
  5. 服用口服避孕药的女性易受影响

预防干槽症:

  • 避免使用吸管喝饮品
  • 避免吸烟,因为吸烟会使手术部位感染
  • 避免大量漱口,因为会影响血液凝结
  • 避免食物碰到该区域。24小时后,使用嘴部另一边咀嚼食物,使用温盐水轻轻漱口。

    服用避孕药且在生理周期的前22天内拔牙的女性术后出现干槽症的可能性是其他人群的两倍。您可以在生理周期的最后一个星期内(28天内的第23天开始)进行拔牙,因为此时雌激素水平较低或不活跃。

如何治疗干槽症?

治疗可通过以下方法:

  • 在手术区域涂抹药物
  • 丁香油技术
  • 纱布敷药
  • 额外的家庭护理指导
  • 涂抹外用麻醉膏
  • 牙槽镇痛软膏

患者的疼痛会在敷药后的5至10分钟后得到缓解。

自从牙医建议每位患者使用抗菌漱口水,并且患者都会通过我们的网站、医嘱以及家庭护理指导宣传资料了解如何在术后对伤口进行护理,出现干槽症的患者越来越少。我们强烈建议患者在每日口腔卫生保健中使用Breath RX产品来帮助控制口腔细菌。

在接下来的三至四天内继续遵守以下指导:

  • 良好口腔护理
  • 避免有残留物的食物,如爆米花、花生和意大利面
  • 食用软食物,如土豆泥、清汤或浓汤、布丁

关于干槽症的新闻资讯

口服避孕药可能会增加智齿拔除手术后的疼痛

对267位女性进行的试验结果表明避孕药服用者比非使用者更容易在术后感到疼痛并出现“干槽症”。该症状会使缺齿牙槽无法形成血凝块,从而延迟正常的愈合。反而,干扰会让牙槽变空。研究发现,有30%的避孕药服用者在术后的一天感到疼痛,相比之下,出现疼痛的非使用者的比例仅有11%。术后五天的疼痛患者比例变成了14%比5%。研究人员表示这些试验结果证明避孕药可能会降低痛阈。在对比干槽症发展的试验中,差异结果也类似,有11%的避孕药服用者受干槽症的影响,相比之下,仅有4% 的非使用者患干槽症。

来源: 英国牙科杂志 2003;194:453-455.

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha

Oral Surgeries FAQs

What should I know about wisdom teeth removal?

Before surgery, your oral and maxillofacial surgeon will discuss with you what to expect. This is a good time to ask questions or express your concerns. It is especially important to let the doctor know about any illness you have and medications you are taking.

The relative ease with which a wisdom tooth may be removed depends on several conditions, including the position of the tooth and root development. Impacted wisdom teeth may require a more involved surgical procedure.

Most wisdom tooth extractions are performed in the oral and maxillofacial surgery office under local anesthesia, intravenous sedation or general anesthesia. Your oral and maxillofacial surgeon will discuss the anesthetic option that is right for you.

When should I have my wisdom teeth removed?

It isn’t wise to wait until your wisdom teeth start to bother you. In general, earlier removal of wisdom teeth results in a less complicated healing process.The AAOMS/OMSF study strongly recommends that wisdom teeth be removed by the time the patient is a young adult in order to prevent future problems and to ensure optimal healing.The researchers found that older patients may be at greater risk for disease, including periodontitis, in the tissues surrounding the third molars and adjacent teeth. Periodontal infections, such as those observed in this study, may affect your general health.

Do any of my wisdom teeth have to come out if they haven’t caused any problems?

Not all problems related to third molars are painful or visible. Damage can occur without your being aware of it.

As wisdom teeth grow, their roots become longer, the teeth become more difficult to remove and complications become more likely. In addition, impacted wisdom teeth are more likely to cause problems as patients age.

No one can predict when third molar complications will occur, but when they do, the circumstances can be much more painful and the teeth more difficult to treat. It is estimated that about 85% of third molars will eventually need to be removed.

Following surgery, what will I experience after my wisdom teeth are removed?

Following surgery, you may experience some swelling and mild discomfort, which are part of the normal healing process. Cold compresses may help decrease the swelling, and medication prescribed by your Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon can help manage the discomfort. You may be instructed to modify your diet following surgery and later progress to more normal foods.

What is an impacted tooth?

A tooth becomes impacted when there is a lack of space in the dental arch and its growth and eruption are prevented by overlying gum, bone or another tooth.

How serious is an impacted tooth?

Impacted teeth can be painful and lead to infection. They may also crowd or damage adjacent teeth or roots.

More serious problems may occur if the sac surrounding the impacted tooth becomes filled with fluid and enlarges to form a cyst. As the cyst grows it may hollow out the jaw and permanently damage adjacent teeth, the surrounding bone and nerves. Rarely, if a cyst is not treated, a tumor may develop from its walls and a more serious surgical procedure may be required to remove it.

Despite the considerable concern regarding impacted third molars, a recent study sponsored by the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation finds that third molars which have broken through the tissue and erupted into the mouth in a normal, upright position may be as prone to disease as those third molars that remain impacted.

How long is the surgery for wisdom teeth removal?

1 hour.

What is dry socket?

Dry socket is the most common complication of an extraction.It develops in about 5% of tooth extractions. It is very painful condition that is easily treated.

A dry socket is:

Any socket in which a patient is having pain due to the loss of the blood clot thus exposing the bone to air, food, and fluids along with an offensive odour. This often occurs two or more days after an extraction and can last about 5-6 days.  It is normal to have soreness and discomfort following an extraction.

However, pain should be lessening by the second day.

This condition exist when a blood clot is dislodged from the surgery site thus exposing the bone and fine nerve endings.The blood clot helps in the stopping of bleeding and lays the foundation or framework for new tissue and bone to develop over a two-month healing process.  This condition is more common in the mandibular area and in back teeth due to poorer circulation in this area, with wisdom teeth being the most common site.  Dry socket delays the healing process.

It usually takes gum tissue about 3-4 weeks to heal where as the bone can take up to six months to heal.

This condition is most often found:

  1. In individuals who smokebefore their recommended time. Smoking: decreases healing, decrease blood supply to the protective blood clot, brings toxic products to the area, injuries the gum tissue and the negative pressure of sucking removes the blood clot from the surgery site
  2. If you do not administer the proper care for your extraction site as instructed by staff
  3. Not following your home care instructions
  4. Sucking action from smoking, sneezing, coughing, spitting or sucking,within the first 24 hours
  5. Women taking oral contraceptives are more susceptible

Prevention of dry socket:

  • Avoid drinking through a straw
  • Avoid smoking, it contaminates the extraction site
  • Avoid excessive mouth rinsing, it interferes with blood clotting
  • Keep food from impacting in this area. Chew on the other side of your mouth and gently rinse your mouth with warm salt water after the first 24 hours

    Women who use birth control pills or have their teeth removed in the first 22 days of the menstrual cycle are twice as likely to develop dry socket after an extraction.  Schedule extractions during the last week of your menstrual cycle(days 23 through 28)when estrogen levels are low or inactive.

How is dry socket treated?

Treatment could include the following:

  • Medication applied to the site
  • Clove oil technique
  • Gauze with medication
  • Additional home care instructions
  • Applying topical anesthetic
  • Alvogyl by Septodont

Patients usually notice pain relief in about 5-10 minutes after the dressing is applied.

We have experienced fewer cases of dry socket since every patient is asked to rinse with an antimicrobial mouthwash and each patient is instructed on how to care for their extraction site through our website, verbal instruction and home care instruction handouts. We highly recommend patients use Breath RX  in their daily oral hygiene routine to help control oral bacterial.

Continue these instructions for the next 3-4 days:

  • Good oral health care
  • Avoid food with any residuals i.e. popcorn, peanuts and pasta
  • Eat soft foods i.e. mashed potatoes, clear or cream soups, pudding

News Updates on Dry Socket

Oral contraceptive may increase pain after wisdom tooth extraction

That tests on 267 women showed that those on the birth control pill were more susceptible than non-users to both postoperative pain and a condition known as “dry socket.” In this condition, normal healing of the vacant tooth socket is delayed by the failure of a blood clot to form. Infection instead causes the socket to remain empty. In the study, pain on the day after the operation was experienced by 30 percent of pill takers compared to just 11 percent of non-users. Five days after the operation the difference was 14 percent compared to 5 percent. The researchers said these results suggest that the pill may reduce the pain threshold. The differential was similar when the development of dry socket was compared. Here, 11 percent of pill users were affected compared to 4 percent of non-pill users.

SOURCE: British Dental Journal 2003;194:453-455.

  • Australian Dental Council
  • Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons
  • The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • Australian Dental Association
  • Health Engine

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha