修复牙科常见问题

汞合金(银汞)充填安全吗?

多年来,人们对汞合金(银汞)充填的安全性有些担忧。汞合金是一种铜、银、锡、锌与单质汞的混合物。100多年以来,牙医使用这种合金材料补牙。对于人体接触汞合金所释出的汞蒸气与微粒会引起各种健康问题的观点,人们一直争论不休。
根据美国牙医协会(American Dental Association,简称ADA),多达76%的牙医使用含汞的银汞填充材料修补牙齿。ADA还认为银汞填充十分安全,研究证据并未发现银汞填充物与任何疾病之间的联系。

人们普遍认为汞合金(银汞)充填是安全的。除ADA的观点以外,疾病控制中心(Center for Disease Control,简称CDC)、世界卫生组织、FDA以及其他机构都支持银汞填充的安全性、耐用性与成本效益。美国公共卫生局称,不可使用银汞填充的唯一情况则是患者对此类填充材料成分过敏。几十年以来,在数以万计的银汞填充诊疗中,ADA收到过不足100份关于银汞填充物过敏事件报告。

虽然研究并未显示有银汞补牙的患者存在可度量的健康风险,但我们知道水银是一种有毒物质,特别是当人体接触到高度、不安全的含量时。例如,我们已经得到警告,要限量食用某些体内存有高含量汞的鱼类。但是,至于汞合金填充材料,ADA认为当汞与填充材料中的其他成分结合时,则变成了安全的非活性物质。

除银汞填充外,您还有大量的材料选择,包括复合填充(牙色)、烤瓷与金填充。我们建议您咨询牙医来决定哪种选择更适合自己。

为什么拍X光片是必要的呢?X光片危险吗?

X光片(射线照片)如同相片。当X射线穿过口腔到达胶片之前,密度高的区域(如牙齿与骨骼)比软组织(如脸颊与牙龈)吸收到更多X射线,从而射线照片图像生成。因为穿过牙齿到达胶片的X射线较少,则这部分影像颜色比较浅,而蛀牙、牙龈疾病可吸收到更多X射线,则影像颜色较深。由于很多疾病存在于口腔组织之下,不使用射线照片则无法检查到这些疾病。射线照片是牙医安全准确找到隐藏疾病异常的重要工具。X光片对您的健康构成的威胁远比未发现、未治疗的口腔问题要小得多。

为什么我需要照X光片?

X光片可以让牙医发现无法在外观检查中检测到的问题,例如已有补牙下的龋齿。

我不喜欢针头,可以在治疗中使用气体镇静吗?

DBS齿科中心可提供不同选择,让您的牙科诊疗更轻松。在我们的大部分诊所中,⼀氧化二氮(俗称笑气)可供患者选择。您的牙医可与您讨论所有的可行方案。

为什么我需要氟化物?

氟化物可加固牙齿表面,使牙齿不易患蛀牙。特别是在牙齿长出的2年内,氟化物治疗十分有效。氟化物治疗是现代预防性牙科的重要部分。

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha

Restorative Dentistry FAQs

Are amalgam (silver) fillings safe?

Over the years there has been some concern as to the safety of amalgam (silver) fillings. An amalgam is a blend of copper, silver, tin and zinc, bound by elemental mercury. Dentists have used this blended metal to fill teeth for more than 100 years. The controversy is due to claims that the exposure to the vapor and minute particles from the mercury can cause a variety of health problems.
According to the American Dental Association (ADA), up to 76% of dentists use silver containing mercury to fill teeth. The ADA also states that silver fillings are safe and that studies have failed to find any link between silver containing mercury and any medical disorder.

The general consensus is that amalgam (silver) fillings are safe. Along with the ADA’s position, the Center for Disease Control (CDC), the World Health Organization, the FDA, and others support the use of silver fillings as safe, durable, and cost effective. The U.S.

Public Health Service says that the only reason not to use silver fillings is when a patient has an allergy to any component of this type of filling. The ADA has had fewer than 100 reported incidents of an allergy to components of silver fillings, and this is out of countless millions of silver fillings over the decades.

Although studies indicate that there are no measurable health risks to patients who have silver fillings, we do know that mercury is a toxic material when we are exposed at high, unsafe levels. For instance, we have been warned to limit the consumption of certain types of fish that carry high levels of mercury in them. However, with respect to amalgam fillings, the ADA maintains that when the mercury combines with the other components of the filling, it becomes an inactive substance that is safe.

There are numerous options to silver fillings, including composite (tooth-colored), porcelain, and gold fillings. We encourage you to discuss these options with your dentist so you can determine which is the best option for you.

Why are x-rays necessary and are they dangerous?

An X-ray (radiograph) is like a photograph. The image on the radiograph is created when X-rays pass through the mouth, more X-rays are absorbed by the denser parts (such as teeth and bone) than by soft tissues (such as cheeks and gums) before striking the film. Because fewer X-rays penetrate the teeth to reach the film teeth appear lighter. Cavities and gum disease appear darker because of more X-ray penetration. Because many diseases exist beneath the visible oral tissue and cannot be detected without the use of radiographs, a radiograph is a valuable tool for the dentist to safely and accurately detect hidden abnormalities. X-rays pose a far smaller risk to your health than undetected and untreated dental problems.

Why do I need to have X-Rays taken?

X-rays allow the dentist to detect problems in areas not visible during visual examination, for example a cavity under an existing filling.

I don’t like needles, can I have gas for my treatment?

Dentist A Brite Smile has a few different ways to make your dental treatment more relaxing. Nitrous Oxide (known as happy gas or laughing gas) is one of the options available at most centres. Your dentist can discuss all available options with you.

Why do I need fluoride?

Fluoride strengthens the tooth surface and makes teeth less prone to cavities, especially when applied within 2 years following tooth eruption. Fluoride is a major part of modern preventive dentistry.

  • Australian Dental Council
  • Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons
  • The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • Australian Dental Association
  • Health Engine

Tell a Friend

x
  • captcha